Text to Search... About Author Email address... Submit Name Email Adress Message About Me page ##1## of ##2## Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec




Sorry, this page is not avalable







Latest Articles

Larry Norman Enter Library of Congress


The Library of Congress' National Recording Registry has unveiled its latest crop of inductions. Among the 25 eclectic recordings deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" are U2's landmark LP The Joshua Tree, the Everly Brothers' "Cathy's Clown," Isaac Hayes' iconic Shaft theme,Jeff Buckley's masterful version of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah," Linda Ronstadt's Heart Like a Wheel LP andCreedence Clearwater Revival's Vietnam War protest anthem "Fortunate Son."

The Everly Brothers: 12 Essential Tracks

“These recordings represent an important part of America’s culture and history,” says Librarian of Congress James H. Billington in a statement on the organization's website. “As technology continually changes and formats become obsolete, we must ensure that our nation’s aural legacy is protected. The National Recording Registry is at the core of this effort.”

To be eligible for induction, a recording must be at least 10 years old. Every year, the Librarian of Congress meets with the Library's National Recording Preservation Board to make 25 selections, with the best quality versions stored at the Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation, located in Culpeper, Virginia. This year's nominations were assembled online from public and NRPB submissions; with these new selections, the registry's collection now includes 400 recordings.

  • George Washington Johnson - "The Laughing Song" (single) (c. 1896)
  • Harry Macdonough and Alice Green - "They Didn’t Believe Me" (single) (1915)
  • Bing Crosby; Rudy Vallee - "Brother, Can You Spare a Dime" (singles) (both 1932)
  • Franz Boas and George Herzog Recordings of Kwakwaka’wakw Chief Dan Cranmer (1938)
  • Roland Hayes - "Were You There" (single) (1940)
  • The Goldbergs: “Sammy Goes Into the Army” (July 9th, 1942)
  • Louis Jordan - "Caldonia" (single) (1945)
  • Elmore James - "Dust My Broom" (single) (1951)
  • Art Blakey - A Night at Birdland (Vols. 1 and 2) (albums) (1954)
  • The Louvin Brothers - "When I Stop Dreaming" (single) (1955)
  • The Everly Brothers - "Cathy’s Clown" (single) (1960)
  • Mance Lipscomb - Texas Sharecropper and Songster (album) (1960)
  • The First Family (album) (1962)
  • Lawrence Ritter’s Interviews With Baseball Pioneers of the Late 19th and Early 20th Century (1962-66)
  • Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson (November 22nd, 1963-January 10th, 1969)
  • Buck Owens and His Buckaroos - Carnegie Hall Concert With Buck Owens and His Buckaroos (album) (1966)
  • Creedence Clearwater Revival - "Fortunate Son" (single)  (1969)
  • Isaac Hayes - Theme From Shaft (album) – Isaac Hayes (1971)
  • Larry Norman - Only Visiting This Planet (album) – Larry Norman (1972)
  • Celia Cruz and Johnny Pacheco - Celia & Johnny (album) –  (1974)
  • Aaron Copland - "Copland Conducts Copland: Appalachian Spring" – Aaron Copland (1974)
  • Linda Ronstadt- Heart Like a Wheel (album) – Linda Ronstadt (1974)
  • Sweeney Todd (album) – Original Cast Recording (1979)
  • U2 - The Joshua Tree (album) – U2 (1987)
  • Jeff Buckley - "Hallelujah" (single) – Jeff Buckley (1994)

No comments:

Post a Comment

5/bigslider2/CCR Zine